Monday, May 27
LS Polls: Nomination filing process begins for Ladakh PC

LS Polls: Nomination filing process begins for Ladakh PC


LEH: Ladakh is all set to elect its representative to the lower house of the Parliament, as the nomination process for Lok Sabha election on May 20 commenced here on Friday.

Ladakh’s lone parliamentary constituency will go to polls along with 48 other constituencies spread over eight other states and the union territory of Jammu and Kashmir, in the fifth of the seven phases of the General Elections 2024.

In accordance with the Election schedule announced by Election Commission of India (ECI) for the conduct of Lok Sabha Elections-2024, the Returning Officer (RO), 01-Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency, Santosh Sukhadeve on Friday issued Election Notification for the upcoming Parliamentary Elections-2024 in the Ladakh Constituency

The RO, 01-Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency held a press conference in this regard at his office chamber, here.

During the briefing, the RO said that the Form-1 has been issued from the RO Office Ladakh and all the interested candidates who want to contest Lok Sabha Election from 01-Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency can file the nomination papers at the Deputy Commissioner’s Office Leh or Assistant Returning Officer, Kargil at the office of CEO, Kargil Development Authority, TFC Kargil.

Santosh informed that the nomination filing period for Parliamentary Constituency commenced at 11:00 AM on April 26th and the window will remain open until 3:00 PM on 3rd May, allowing interested candidates to submit their nomination papers to contest the Lok Sabha Election.

He said that the nomination forms would be scrutinized on 4th May here at the Office of the RO Ladakh, while the last date for the withdrawal of the nomination is set for 6th of May upto 3 pm.
The Constituency is slated to go to the polls on 20th of May.

The Polling day for the Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency is scheduled for May 20, 2024 (Monday) and the Polling will be conducted from 07:00 AM to 06:00 PM.

With a little over three weeks to go for voting, the Bharatiya Janata Party is the only party so far to announce its candidate from the union territory of Ladakh, even as the Congress is likely to announce its candidate soon against the saffron party.

On Tuesday, the Bharatiya Janata Party named Leh hill council chief Advocate Tashi Gyalson as its candidate from the Ladakh Lok Sabha seat, dropping sitting MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, who reacted defiantly and asserted that he will soon announce his next course of action. Gyalson is the chairman-cum-chief executive councillor of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council in Leh.

While the National Conference (NC) holds considerable influence in Kargil district, it has conceded the Ladakh seat to Congress in lieu of three seats in the Kashmir valley of neighbouring Jammu and Kashmir, after the two parties decided to fight the Lok Sabha elections under INDI alliance.

Leave a reply