Friday, June 2
Joint review meeting on Telecom Services in Ladakh held

Joint review meeting on Telecom Services in Ladakh held


Leh: Advisor Ladakh, Umang Narula co-chaired a meeting with Secretary Telecom and Chairman DCC GoI, K Rajaraman and discussed key projects for network enhancement Sunday.

The discussions were focused on exploring possible solutions to overcome the challenges faced by telecom service providers in Ladakh, such as difficult terrain, extreme weather conditions, and inadequate infrastructure, to ensure that the telecom services are reliable, efficient, and accessible to all.

During the meeting, Advisor Narula highlighted the requirement of telecom network on the highways and suggested that the telecom network must be available on the main routes so that citizens and tourists do not face any challenges if they require any support during their travel.

He further proposed several measures to improve telecommunications infrastructure in remote areas of Ladakh, e.g., Shan Shaday in Kargil and likewise in Leh district.

Secretary Telecom, K Rajaraman instructed the officials to complete the pending survey works of 4G Saturation Project so that projects could be implemented on time. He also assured to provide all the support required for hundred per cent mobile coverage in UT Ladakh.

In the meeting, Director Bharatnet, BSNL, New Delhi, V.P. Singh delivered a detailed presentation on the status of telecom services in Ladakh. The presentation covered a range of topics including the status of uncovered census villages; electricity connection status of the 4G Saturation Project; Bharatnet Project UT Ladakh; status of VSATs at Gram Panchayats and DSPTs; utilization data of VSAT sites; support required from the State Government for improvement of Network Availability and Rights of Way (RoW), and Call Before u Dig (CBuD) Portal status, amongst others.

V.P Singh informed that Ladakh has a total of 1352 Base Transceiver Station (BTS) services, which are operated by Airtel, BSNL, and RJIO, and offer 2G, 3G, and 4G mobile network technology. This network infrastructure has helped cater to the demands of a significant number of mobile users in the region, with a total subscriber base of 581,068 postpaid and prepaid users. With regard to 4G network saturation, it was informed that so far 379 villages/hamlets have been surveyed; 233 new network sites proposed; 165 lands acquired; 68 land acquisitions pending; 64 forest land processed in Parivesh portal and 7 existing 2G/3G upgradation.

Apprising on the status of RoW, the meeting was informed that UT Ladakh has issued a notification mandating the use of CBuD by excavators in the region. Additionally, Ladakh has formed a 5G working committee and amended the

Right of Way policy to facilitate the laying of telecom infrastructure.

During the meeting, officials discussed the challenges faced by telecom infrastructure in Ladakh, including the lack of electricity at 186 Gram Panchayat VSAT locations, equipment theft and damage, need for IT peripherals and WiFi routers and solar equipment. They deliberated on the support required from the administration to address these issues and improve the telecom infrastructure in the region.

Representative from Jio informed the meeting that so far 16 5G Base Transceiver Station (BTS) are launched in Leh town

Principal Secretary, IT Department, Ladakh, Sanjeev Khirwar stated that all possible support shall be provided to the telecom authorities by IT Department in their endeavour to improve telecom services in Ladakh and urged the officials to complete the surveys on time.

The meeting was also attended by Principal Chief Conservator of Forests, Jigmet Takpa; CGM, J&K Circle, BSNL, Sanjeev Tyagi; GM BA Leh, BSNL, Kuldeep Kumar Singh; DDG LSA Jammu, DoT, Prachish Khanna; GM Bharatnet BSNL Shimla, Sanjay Gupta; GM Bharatnet J&K Circle, BSNL, Nazir Ahmad; DGM BA Leh, BSNL, G.P Patel; DE NTR Leh, BSNL, DGM BA Leh, BSNL, Tashi Punchok; DE NTP Leh, BSNL, Makhan Singh; SDE OPN Leh BSNL, Harish Chanda; representatives from JIO; Technical Director, NIC; ADC, Kargil; ACR, Leh and other concerned officials.

Leave a reply