Tuesday, October 3
Ladakh Government

Governing, Executive Bodies of Science and Technology Innovation Council constituted


LEH: The government of union territory of Ladakh constituted Governing and Executive Bodies comprising the following members for the UT Ladakh Science & Technology Innovation Council.

The Governing Body would be headed by Advisor to Lieutenant Governor Pawan Kotwal as its Chairman, and Administrative Secretary, Finance Department, Administrative Secretary, Planning Development & Monitoring Department, Administrative Secretary, Forest, Ecology & Environment Department, Administrative Secretary, Industries & Commerce Member Department, Administrative Secretary, Higher Education Member Department, Administrative Secretary, Technical Education & Skill Development Department, Administrative Secretary, Rural Development & Panchayati Raj Department, Administrative Secretary, Science & Technology/ Department Secretary, Vice-Chancellor, University of Ladakh, Representative of the Department of Science & Technology, Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India, Representative of the Department of Scientific & Industrial Research, Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India will be its members. And Representative of IIT, Jammu will also be included as its Member.

While, The Executive Body would be headed by Administrative Secretary, Science & Technology Department as its Chairman. Among members would include Vice-Chancellor, University of Ladakh,
Vice-Chancellor, Islamic University of Science & Technology, Pulwama, UT of J&K, Vice-Chancellor, Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University, Katra, UT of J&K, Vice-Chancellor, National Forensic Science University, Gandhinagar, Director, DIHAR, Leh, Director, National Institute of Sowa Rigpa, Leh, Director, Space Application Centre (SAC), ISRO Ahmadabad, Director, IUAC, New Delhi, Director CSIR-IHBT, Palampur (HP), Director, GB Pant National Institute of Himalayan Ecosystem, Almora, Director, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bengaluru, Director, CSIR-NGRI, Hyderabad, Director, IICT, Hyderabad, Prof. Arun Grover, Ex-Vice Chancellor, Punjab, University, Chandigarh, will be its members and Deputy Secretary, Science & Technology Department, Ladakh will be its Members Secretary.

The primary objectives of UT Ladakh Science & Technology Innovation Council are to act as a nodal agency for the Department of Science & Technology, Government of India. To advice Ladakh Administration of policies and measures necessary to promote utilization of Science and Technology for the achievement of the socio-economic objectives. To identify areas in which Science and Technology can be utilized. To ensure Technology demonstration, extension and transfer.

To initiate, support, promote and co-ordinate such research and development projects and programmes (including demonstration projects) as are likely to be relevant to the achievement of specific objectives and problems and help in the fruitful exploitation of the natural resources of the UT Ladakh.

To establish or assist in the establishment of infrastructure (Institutions, Organizations, etc.) necessary to the Science and Technology of the UT Ladakh. To prepare Science and Technology plans and formulate research and development programmes, examine such programmes, if received
from other institutions and finance and/ or aid such projects by means of grants and supply of materials.

To promote the popularization of Science and the spread of a scientific temper and attitude amongst the people of the UT and to disseminate scientific knowledge. To take all such measures which are likely to accelerate the process of modernization in UT Ladakh through the use of Science & Technology.

Leave a reply