Wednesday, December 6
Foundation Day of 8 states, 5 UTs celebrated with full fervour in Ladakh

Foundation Day of 8 states, 5 UTs celebrated with full fervour in Ladakh


Leh: The Foundation Day of 8 states, including Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab and Tamil Nadu and 5 Union Territories, including Andaman and Nicobar Island, Chandigarh, Delhi, Lakshadweep and Puducherry, which are formed on November 1, was celebrated at Raj Niwas of UT Ladakh.

The Foundation Day of Union Territories of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh, which are formed on October 31, was also celebrated on the occasion. Advisor to Lieutenant Governor of Ladakh, Dr Pawan Kotwal, was the chief guest on the occasion.

The Formation Day of all these eight states and five union territories are being celebrated at all the Raj Bhawans/Raj Niwas across the country as a part of the central government’s push under the Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat programme to celebrate cultural diversity and different traditions of the country.

Wishing everyone on the occasion of the Foundation Day of all the 13 States/UTs, Dr Pawan Kotwal informed that the Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi, came up with the idea to organise this programme under Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat to celebrate the cultural diversity and traditions for the unification of the entire country.

Stating that today is an important day for the nation, the Advisor said that the majority of the states/UTs of India were formed on November 1. He appreciated people from these states for their contribution to the overall development of the country and Ladakh.

Dr Kotwal said that Ladakh celebrated its 5th Foundation Day on October 31, where the President of India, Smt Droupadi Murmu, was the chief guest. He said that Ladakh has seen significant development in every sector after becoming a Union Territory in 2019.

Councillor, LAHDC Leh, Tsering Sangdup wished everyone on Foundation Day of 8 States and 5 UTs. He expressed gratitude to the Administration of UT Ladakh for organising the Foundation Day of all these States/ UTs under the Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat programme. He expressed his happiness over participating in such events after Ladakh became a UT and said that people now have the opportunity to represent Ladakh in every field.

Earlier, Secretary to LG, Ravinder Kumar welcomed the guests. Cultural troupes from Ladakh Cultural Academy, Leh presented a cultural programme during the celebration.

Advisor to LG, Dr Pawan Kotwal, IAS; Secretary to LG, Ravinder Kumar, IAS; Councillor Panamik, Tsering Sangdup; Scientist, DIHAR Leh, Dr Dorjey Angchuk; Armed forces officials/personnel serving in Ladakh; guests from various States/ UTs and officials of Raj Niwas were present during the celebration.

Leave a reply