Tuesday, October 3

Advisor Kotwal Chairs meeting of 3rd Ladakh Pollution Control Committee


Leh: The Advisor to the Hon’ble Lieutenant Governor of UT Ladakh/Chairman of Ladakh Pollution Control Committee, Dr Pawan Kotwal, chaired the meeting of the 3rd Ladakh Pollution Control Committee (LPCC) at the Conference Hall, Civil Secretariat.

The Regional Director of LPCC Aditya Madanpotra presented an action taken report on decisions of the 2nd LPCC meeting and presented a detailed presentation on the agendas of the 3rd meeting. The agenda of the meeting was on the guidelines for hotels/ restaurants/ marriage, halls/ banquet halls/party venues, incentive scheme for the installation of a Sewage Treatment Plant (STP) by the hotel industry, creation of technical posts for Ladakh Pollution Control Committee, and model recruitment rule for the chairman and member secretary.

While discussing the disposal of water wastes, and reuse of water Dr. Kotwal stated that LPCC must strictly investigate its proper and safe disposal. The advisor stated that the minimal amount of pollution contributes tremendously to Ladakh’s sensitive ecology. He directed all the officials to compile guidelines, mechanisms, and mitigation measures to control any kind of pollution.

The meeting also held deliberations on the agendas, and the creation of a sufficient number of technical posts related to scientific and engineering fields to carry out the scientific mandates of the LPCC efficiently. The draft guidelines, mitigation measures, and mechanisms of the pollution will be uploaded on the LPCC website for the public domain.

The meeting was attended by Sanjeev Khirwar, Principal Secretary of Housing & Urban Development, UT Ladakh; Amit Sharma, Administrative Secretary of Transport, UT Ladakh; Mufti Sajjad Hussain, Chief Wildlife Warden, UT Ladakh; Dr. Motup Dorje, Director of Health & Medical Education, UT Ladakh; Dr Zahida Bano, Director of Housing & Urban Development Department, UT Ladakh; Nazir Sheikh, Director of Industries & Commerce Department, UT Ladakh; Aditya Madanpotra, Regional Director of Ladakh Pollution Control Committee, UT Ladakh; Chairman, Ladakh Chamber of Industries; and other officials of the LPCC. While Professor Raj Kumar Rampal, Head of the Department of Environmental Science, University of Jammu; Gurman Singh, Member Secretary of Central Pollution Control Board, New Delhi; Dr Nitin Joshi, Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Jammu, and Dr Khursheed Alam Khan joined the meeting virtually.


Leave a reply